Blind Chili

Red marks = Ouch

For those of you that know me, you are aware that I’m damn near blind. I don’t know my eyesight “score” but I do know that my contact prescription is -4.75. Apparently, that’s pretty rough. I’m so used to having poor eyesight, however, that I don’t realize it until there is a certain point of “Oh”. An epiphany, if you will. An epiphany that opens my eyes to the fact I’m going to be unable to see by the time I hit 30. I had one of those moments the other day, while I was in the shower. I had taken my contacts out and no one wears glasses in the shower. So, I’m functioning without visual aids. I decided to shave my legs. In the course of this endeavor, I dropped my razor. No big deal, I pick it back up and resume the shave. The snag here is that the blade portion was knocked off the handle, and I couldn’t see that it was gone. This results in the very large scratch on the top of my thigh that you see in the picture to the left. You can’t shave your legs without a razor, but you sure can scratch the hell out of them with the handle.

I think it may be time to start looking into the Lasik operation. It sounds super gross though; something about a flap on the eye, I’m not sure if I can do it. I know its impossible, but I was really hoping that patients didn’t have to be awake for the operation. You know, just hold the eyelid open with those wooden pins and get it done while I sleep. Yeah, that doesn’t seem to happen that way. Ew. Anyone else had this surgery done? Do you feel anything? Do they numb you? With NEEDLES? Oh, lawd, I’m already freaking out. Hurk.

Have a recipe instead. Recipes don’t poke you with needles in the eye (I made that up) or make you loose what eyesight you have. I managed to forget to take a picture of this particular recipe, but it was sooooo good. I would highly recommend you whip out your crock pots and give this one a try. Check back in tomorrow, because I plan to have some more recipes up, but those will be for cookies!

Pinto Bean Chili with Corn and Winter Squash (From Cooking Light Slow Cooker, pg. 88)
1 tbl. olive oil
1 1/2 cups chopped onion
1 1/2 cups chopped red bell pepper
1 garlic clove, minced (I used way more.)
2 tbl. chili powder
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
4 cups (1/2 inch) cubed peeled butternut squash (about 1 lb.)
2 (16 oz.) cans pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1 1/2 cups water
1 cup frozen whole-kernel corn (I would suggest a bit more corn.)
1 tsp. salt
1 (28 oz.) can crushed tomatoes, undrained
1 (4.5 oz) can chopped green chiles, undrained
3/4 cup (3 oz.) crumbled queso fresco
Lime wedges

1. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add onion, bell pepper, and garlic; cover and cook 5 minutes or until tender. Add chili poweder and cumin; cook 1 minutes, stirring constantly.
2. Place onion mixture in a 5-quart electric slow cooker. Add squash and next 6 ingredients. Cover and cook on LOW 8 hours or until chili is thick. Ladle chili into individual bowls. Sprinkle with cheese, and serve with lime wedges.

Yield: 6 servings (1 3/4 cups chili, 2 tbl. cheese, and 2 lime wedges)
Calories: 319
Nom Rating: 5 out of 5 Noms!

One comment

  1. Go for it! It’ll suck but you know you can do it. You got a tattoo! You learned to use contacts! You survived getting your wisdom teeth removed without killing ME! I know a few people who’ve done it and hear that it mostly just sucks for a day or two after, while its healing up.

Tell Me About It.

